Study Europe

The political map of Europe


The political map of Europe is substantially derived from the re-organization of Europe following the Napoleonic Wars in 1815. The prevalent form of government in Europe is parliamentary democracy. Europe’s remaining eleven monarchies are constitutional.
European integration is the process of political, legal, economic (and in some cases social and cultural) integration of European.


28 European states are members of the politico-economic European Union, 26 of the border-free Schengen Area and 19 of the monetary union Eurozone.

Becoming a member of the EU is a complex procedure which does not happen overnight. Once an applicant country meets the conditions for membership, it must implement EU rules and regulations in all areas. In this moment there are Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, Macedonia and Turkey, the five candidate countries which are in the process of ‘transposing’ (or integrating) EU legislation into national law.

Brexit: For the time being, the United Kingdom remains a full member of the EU and rights and obligations continue to fully apply in and to the UK


The Schengen Area is one of the greatest achievements of the EU. It is an area without internal borders, an area within which citizens, many non-EU nationals, students, business people and tourists can freely circulate without being subjected to border checks.


The basic school education is compulsory and lasts about 9 – 10 years. The age when children begin school – though it’s usually between 5 and 6 years old.


Secondary education is not compulsory and lasts about 3 – 4 years, up to a country. The study is completed by diploma, which is a necessary document for further study at the university.